Copyright: 2016 Ann Millikan. All Rights Reserved.
Duration: 5:45

Instrumentation: flute, Bb clarinet, piano, violin, cello

Streams was composed using a particular process, and one I haven't tried before. I wrote it in streams, in complete silence, with each instrument's music created independently from the others. Once I completed a solo I never looked at it again. I had no idea of the vertical relationships in the score, except for what I could hold in my memory, until I put the five voices together. I fully expected to edit like crazy once I integrated the whole, but to my surprise I needed to change very little. 

STREAMS was commissioned through HERE AND THERE, a partnership of No Exit New Music Ensemble and Zeitgeist.

SDPC 460 01 Score $15
SDPC 460 02 Parts $20
Copyright 2010-21 Ann Millikan. All