Millikan Symphony
In honor of my brother Bob Millikan (1957-2012)

Copyright: 2015 Ann Millikan. All Rights Reserved.
Duration: 47:00
I. Science (12:50)
II. Animals (13:15)
III. Rowing (6:10)
IV. Violin (14:45)

Instrumentation: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 Bb clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 Bb trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, 2 percussion, strings. Violin soloist, Mov't IV only.

Millikan Symphony is a 47-minute work for full orchestra written in four movements, each honoring an area of Bob's work and accomplishment: Science, Animals, Rowing, Violin. My intention with this composition was not to simply write a piece for the orchestra to play, but to compose a work in collaboration with the UNC/regional community. Dr. Robert Millikan was the Barbara S. Hulka Distinguished Professor of Cancer Epidemiology at UNC-Chapel Hill. For more information about this work, and the collaboration in North Carolina, please visit
SDPC 450 01 Score, Rental
SDPC 450 02 Parts, Rental
Available on Innova 981, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Millikan Symphony
Copyright 2010-21 Ann Millikan. All